The 14th BRICS Summit will be held in virtual mode from China, on June 23, 2022. The Summit will bring together Xi Jinping, Russian President Vladimir Putin, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, President of South Africa Cyril Ramaphosa and President of Brazil Jair Bolsonaro.

During the meeting, heads of state will discuss intra-BRICS cooperation in areas like trade, counter-terrorism, traditional medicine, health, environment, reform of multilateral institutions and combating covid-19 pandemic.

BRICS Summit 2022 will be held under the theme of “Foster High-Quality BRICS Partnership, Usher in a New Era for Global Development.”

This BRICS summit will provide China and Russia a vehicle to expand their vision of global order, as leaders of both the countries declared a “no-limits friendship” before Russia invaded Ukraine. China has extended crucial diplomatic support to Russia, as it seeks to redefine the terms democracy and human rights.


The BRICS comprise 41% of the world population, having 24% of the world GDP and over 16% share in the world trade. Both China and Russia back BRICS expansion, seeing the grouping as a useful platform to broaden their voice amid their tensions with the West.

Targeted countries include

  1. Argentina
  2. Egypt
  3. Indonesia
  4. Kazakhstan
  5. Saudi Arabia
  6. United Arab Emirates
  7. Nigeria
  8. Senegal
  9. Thailand
  10. Uzbekistan

Argentina, Indonesia and Egypt are among the countries that have previously indicated their interest in joining the group.

BRICS PLUS Population

  1. China: 1.402 billion
  2. India: 1.38 billion
  3. Indonesia: 273.5 million
  4. Brazil: 212.6 million
  5. Nigeria: 206.1 million
  6. Russia: 144.1 million
  7. Egypt: 102.3 million
  8. Thailand: 69.8 million
  9. South Africa: 59.31 million
  10. Argentina: 45.38 million
  11. Saudi Arabia: 34.81 million
  12. Uzbekistan: 34.23 million
  13. Kazakhstan: 18.75 million
  14. Senegal: 16.74 million
  15. United Arab Emirates: 9.89 million

Total: 4.009.51 billion or 52% of the world population




Add new comment